Design Management (FREE)
Design Management allows you to upload design assets (including wireframes and mockups) to GitLab issues and keep them stored in a single place, accessed by the Design Management's page within an issue, giving product designers, product managers, and engineers a way to collaborate on designs over a single source of truth.
You can share mock-ups of designs with your team, or visual regressions can be viewed and addressed.
For an overview, see the video Design Management (GitLab 12.2).
Design Management requires Large File Storage (LFS) to be enabled:
- For GitLab.com, LFS is already enabled.
- For self-managed instances, a GitLab administrator must have enabled LFS globally.
- For both GitLab.com and self-managed instances: LFS must be enabled for the project itself. If enabled globally, LFS is enabled by default to all projects. To enable LFS on the project level, navigate to your project's Settings > General, expand Visibility, project features, permissions and enable Git Large File Storage.
Design Management also requires that projects are using
Newly created projects use hashed storage by default. A GitLab administrator
can verify the storage type of a project by going to Admin Area > Projects
and then selecting the project in question. A project can be identified as
hashed-stored if its Gitaly relative path contains
If the requirements are not met, the Designs tab displays a message to the user.
Files uploaded must have a file extension of either
Support for PDF is tracked in this issue.
- Design uploads are limited to 10 files at a time.
- From GitLab 13.1, Design filenames are limited to 255 characters.
- Design Management data isn't deleted when a project is destroyed yet.
- Design Management data isn't deleted when an issue is deleted.
- From GitLab 12.7, Design Management data can be replicated by Geo but not verified.
- Only the latest version of the designs can be deleted.
- Deleted designs cannot be recovered but you can see them on previous designs versions.
Introduced in GitLab 13.2.
Connect your design environment with your source code management in a seamless workflow. The GitLab-Figma plugin makes it quick and easy to collaborate in GitLab by bringing the work of product designers directly from Figma to GitLab Issues as uploaded Designs.
The Design Management section
You can find to the Design Management section in the issue description:
To upload Design images, drag files from your computer and drop them in the Design Management section, or select click to upload to select images from your file browser:
You can drag and drop designs onto the dedicated drop zone to upload them.
You can also copy images from your file system and paste them directly on the GitLab Design page as a new design.
On macOS, you can take a screenshot and immediately copy it to the clipboard by simultaneously pressing Control + Command + Shift + 3, and then paste it as a design.
Copy-and-pasting has some limitations:
- You can paste only one image at a time. When copy/pasting multiple files, only the first one is uploaded.
- All images are converted to
pngformat under the hood, so when you want to copy/paste
giffile, it results in broken animation.
- If you are pasting a screenshot from the clipboard, it is renamed to
- Copy/pasting designs is not supported on Internet Explorer.
Designs with the same filename as an existing uploaded design create a new version of the design, and replaces the previous version. Dropping a design on an existing uploaded design creates a new version if the filenames are the same.
Designs with the same filename as an existing uploaded design and whose content has not changed are skipped. This means that no new version of the design is created. When designs are skipped, you are made aware by a warning message on the Issue.
Images on the Design Management page can be enlarged by selecting them. You can navigate through designs by selecting the navigation buttons on the top-right corner or with Left/Right keyboard buttons.
The number of discussions on a design — if any — is listed to the right of the design filename. Selecting this number enlarges the design, similar to clicking or tapping anywhere else in the design. When a design is added or modified, an icon is displayed on the item to help summarize changes between versions.
|Modified (in the selected version)|
|Added (in the selected version)|
Exploring designs by zooming
Designs can be explored in greater detail by zooming in and out of the image.
Control the amount of zoom with the
- buttons at the bottom of the image.
While zoomed, you can still start new discussions on the image, and see any existing ones.
While zoomed in, you can drag the image to move around it.
There are two ways to delete designs: manually delete them individually, or select a few of them to delete at once, as shown below.
To delete a single design, select it to view it enlarged, then select the trash icon on the top right corner and confirm the deletion by selecting Delete in the window:
To delete multiple designs at once, on the design's list view, first select the designs you want to delete:
Select Delete selected to confirm the deletion:
NOTE: Only the latest version of the designs can be deleted. Deleted designs are not permanently lost; they can be viewed by browsing previous versions.
Introduced in GitLab 13.3.
You can change the order of designs by dragging them to a new position.
Starting discussions on designs
When a design is uploaded, you can start a discussion by selecting the image on the exact location you would like the discussion to be focused on. A pin is added to the image, identifying the discussion's location.
You can adjust a pin's position by dragging it around the image. This is useful for when your design layout has changed between revisions, or if you need to move an existing pin to add a new one in its place.
Different discussions have different pin numbers:
In GitLab 12.5 and later, new discussions are output to the issue activity, so that everyone involved can participate in the discussion.
Resolve Design threads
Introduced in GitLab 13.1.
Discussion threads can be resolved on Designs.
There are two ways to resolve/unresolve a Design thread:
You can mark a thread as resolved or unresolved by selecting the checkmark icon for Resolve thread in the top-right corner of the first comment of the discussion:
Design threads can also be resolved or unresolved in their threads by using a checkbox. When replying to a comment, you can select or clear a checkbox to resolve or unresolve the thread after publishing:
Resolving a discussion thread also marks any pending to-do items related to notes inside the thread as done. This is applicable only for to-do items owned by the user triggering the action.
Your resolved comment pins disappear from the Design to free up space for new discussions. However, if you need to revisit or find a resolved discussion, all of your resolved threads are available in the Resolved Comment area at the bottom of the right sidebar.
Add to-do items for designs
Add a to-do item for a design by selecting Add a to do on the design sidebar:
Referring to designs in Markdown
We support referring to designs in Markdown, which is available throughout the application, including in merge request and issue descriptions, in discussions and comments, and in wiki pages.
Full URL references are supported. For example, if we refer to a design somewhere with:
This is rendered as: